A year of change

And enlightenment. As the close of 2010 is less than 48
hours away there are a few conclusions to be drawn and a few good
times to look over as self-defining moments from this year. For my
own closure and for anyone who reads/has read this, this is a
“wrapping up my blog” post and a brief summary of how this year has
changed me as a human. Let me first say that it’s awesome to know
that all my friends and I have saved our money and moved out of
that shitty town that’d been bringin’ us down. Every thing is
looking up from here. I have a great new job that pays well, allows
me to learn and introduces me to some great people. Plus China is
becoming more plausible each pay day. I just experienced my first
Christmas away from home, I thought it would be more sad, but I saw
my family over 3 intense christmas days and had so many good times
that everything was fine. This year and this Christmas brought a
revelation of growing up and something I never thought I would say
is that “Yes, I am growing up.” I now realise though that growing
up isn’t exactly what you picture as a kid. You don’t suddenly just
stop wanting to have fun, you don’t just start liking vegetables
over night. You don’t become boring and it’s not like one day you
get a complete sex education lesson that answers all the questions
that were a heavily debated topic in primary school. It’s amazing,
its a mix of all your experienced and all your broaden horizons
that shaped who you become. I have always been a pretty bright kid
as the schooling systems grading scheme has told me. But despite
the fact I may not be topping all my Uni classes I feel so much
more enlightened now than I ever have, I feel I have learnt more
things and more important things in the past year then in any year
of schooling. It may just be as a result of to many night being
drunk and philosophical debating or it could be the fact that I am
really experiencing, taking in everything and thinking myself to
death. What ever it is I can say that it is making me realise more
and more who I am and what I want. Something that really distresses
me is that people can cry, and morn over some ones death, but death
is really not the saddest thing. The saddest thing is the fact that
some people don’t even get to live their lives at all. All I want
is to be able to look back one day and say that I don’t regret a
single thing I didn’t get to do in my life. I want to experience
true happiness and I want to sincerely live my life. Now that the
heartfelt crap is over I want to make a list, this has been the
best year of my life and these are the reasons why. 1. My 19th
birthday. 2. Sydney, Melbourne road trip with Daniel. (RT10) 3.
Started this blog. 4. Started dating Elly. 5. Moved out of home. 6.
Went through some stupid phases. (eg. indie) 7. Made new friends.
8. Became closer with current best friends. 9. Was in a bad crash.
(rolled the van) 10. Went to Melbourne with Milestones. 11. Winter
road trip/skii trip with Elly. 12. Bought my most expensive
material possession to date (MacBook) 13. Ruled another year of
uni. 14. Got a new and awesome job at the museum. 15. Made the
decision to go to China. 16. First Christmas away from home. 17.
Saved the most amount of money I have ever saved before. 18. And
finally I have done a whole lot of thinking, reading, talking and
learning. Leading to eye opening epiphanies and and life changing
values. Thank you to everyone who was involved in my life for the
past 365 days. You have made it the best year and I am so grateful.
Thank you to anyone who has read this blog. And thank you to anyone
who has inspired me this year. Keep being awesome!

About James Cassimatis

I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A year of change

  1. Teresa says:

    It’s awesome … knew it would be xx

  2. April says:

    You’re gay for never blogging again. I love your blog! Such great writing. You homo 😦

Leave a Reply

